The Experts

Dr. sc. nat ETH Felix Keller

Felix Keller has been working as a glaciologist on the topics of permafrost, glaciers and lake ice since 1985. Soon he also became interested in specialised didactics in the environmental field and in 2005 received a lectureship in environmental didactics at ETH Zurich. Since 2015, he has been working on securing glacier masses with meltwater recycling, which could secure the existential water supply for large parts of the population in dry mountain regions in the Himalayas and the Andes.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Oerlemans

Prof. Dr. h.c. Johannes Oerlemans studied geophysics and mathematics at the University of Utrecht (NL),
and received his doctorate summa cum laude in 1980 on "Some Model Studies on the Ice Age Problem".
For many years he was the head of the Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Research IMAU and built up a research group that used various methods (field work, remote sensing, computer models) to investigate the relationship between climate change, sea level and glacier fluctuations. Since 1995 he has been working on the Morteratsch glacier and organizes an annual summer school for glaciologists, for which the International Society of Glaciology awarded him the "Richardson Medal" in 2019.

Prof. Dr. sc. nat. ETH Martin Hoelzle

Martin Hoelzle is Professor of Physical Geography at the University of Fribourg in Switzerland. He is a member of the Advisory Committee on Climate Change (OcCC) of the Swiss Federal Department of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC), scientific advisor of the World Glacier Monitoring Service (WGMS) and former president of the Swiss Society for Snow, Ice and Permafrost.
For more than 25 years he has been developing modern, strongly interdisciplinary strategies for monitoring the alpine cryosphere and has extensive knowledge of the complex process chains in the high mountains.

University Partnerships

Academia Engiadina (CH)

Center for Applied Glaciology (ZAG)

The joint project of the Academia Engiadina and the University of Applied Sciences Graubünden ZAG specializes in glacier maintenance, climate adaptation in winter tourism (lake ice, artificial snowmaking, construction and planning in the alpine region, permafrost, glacier monitoring) and in experience-oriented offer innovation in tourism. First and foremost, the center is oriented towards the extraordinary natural conditions in Graubünden (proximity of the Morteratsch glacier, Upper Engadine lakes, winter tourism, alpine region) and thus contributes to the implementation of Graubünden's research strategy.

University Utrecht (NL)

 

Institute for Marine and Atmospheric research Utrecht (IMAU)

The mission of the Institute for Marine and Atmospheric Research Utrecht (IMAU) is to contribute to basic research on oceans, atmosphere and cryosphere. This knowledge is used in studies on climate change and the possible effects on mankind.

Lucerne University (CH)

 

Institute for Mechanical and Energy Engineering, Civil Engineering

The Lucerne university of Engineering & Architecture

... offers a first-class, practice-oriented and flexible engineering degree programme with a clear focus on content.

... successfully conducts research and development at a high level and is an attractive partner for its customers.

... sees itself as a team that inspires customers, shapes the future together and is an attractive employer in education and research.

 

University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland (CH)

 

Institute for Thermal and Fluid Engineering

With the guiding principle: "Experiment and Simulation for Innovation", the institute's competences lie in "Thermal Systems Engineering", flow and combustion processes, multiphysics in manufacturing and operating processes. 

The Institute of Thermo and Fluid Engineering works as a competent and innovative team with a lot of industrial and management experience together in teaching and research.

University of Applied Sciences Graubünden (CH)

 

Center for Applied Glaciology (ZAG)

The ZAG, which is run jointly by the Academia Engiadina and the University of Applied Sciences Graubünden, specialises in glacier management, climate adaptation in winter tourism (lake ice, artificial snowmaking, construction and planning in the Alpine region, permafrost, glacier monitoring) and in experience-oriented innovation of offers in tourism. First and foremost, the centre is oriented towards the exceptional natural conditions in Graubünden (proximity of the Morteratsch glacier, Upper Engadine lakes, winter tourism, alpine region) and thus contributes to the implementation of Graubünden's research strategy.

en_GBEN

Die Experten

Dr. sc. nat ETH Felix Keller

Felix Keller beschäftigt sich seit 1985 als Glaziologe mit den Themen Permafrost, Gletscher und Seeeis. Bald interessierte er sich auch für Fachdidaktik im Umweltbereich und erhielt 2005 einen Lehrauftrag für Umweltdidaktik an der ETH Zürich. Seit 2015 arbeitet an der Sicherung von Gletschermassen mit Schmelzwasserrecycling, das die existenzielle Wasserversorgung für große Teile der Bevölkerung in trockenen Bergregionen im Himalaya und den Anden sichern könnte.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Oerlemans

Prof. Dr. h.c. Johannes Oerlemans studierte Geophysik und Mathematik an der Universität Utrecht (NL),
und promovierte 1980 summa cum laude über “Einige Modellstudien zum Eiszeitproblem”.
Viele Jahre lang leitete er das Institut für Meeres- und Atmosphärenforschung IMAU und baute eine Forschungsgruppe auf, die mit verschiedenen Methoden (Feldarbeit, Fernerkundung, Computermodelle) den Zusammenhang zwischen Klimawandel, Meeresspiegel- und Gletscherschwankungen untersuchte. Seit 1995 arbeitet er am Morteratschgletscher und organisiert eine jährliche Sommerschule für Glaziologen, für die ihm die Internationale Gesellschaft für Glaziologie im Jahr 2019 die “Richardson-Medaille” verlieh.

Prof. Dr. sc. nat. ETH Martin Hoelzle

Martin Hoelzle ist Professor für Physische Geographie an der Universität Freiburg in der Schweiz. Er ist Mitglied des Beratenden Ausschusses für Klimaänderungen (OcCC) des Eidgenössischen Departements für Umwelt, Verkehr, Energie und Kommunikation (UVEK), wissenschaftlicher Berater des World Glacier Monitoring Service (WGMS) und ehemaliger Präsident der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Schnee, Eis und Permafrost.
Seit mehr als 25 Jahren entwickelt er moderne, stark interdisziplinäre Strategien zur Beobachtung der alpinen Kryosphäre und verfügt über umfangreiche Kenntnisse der komplexen Prozessketten im Hochgebirge.

Universitätspartnerschaften

Academia Engiadina (CH)

Zentrum für Angewandte Glaziologie (ZAG)

Das gemeinsam von der Academia Engiadina und der Fachhochschule Graubünden geführte ZAG ist spezialisiert auf Gletscherpflege, Klimaanpassung im Wintertourismus (Seeeis, künstliche Beschneiung, Bau- und Planungswesen im alpinen Raum, Permafrost, Gletschermonitoring) und auf erlebnisorientierte Angebotsinnovation im Tourismus. In erster Linie orientiert sich das Zentrum an den ausserordentlichen natürlichen Rahmenbedingungen in Graubünden (Nähe Morteratschgletscher, Oberengadiner Seen, Wintertourismus, alpiner Raum) und trägt damit zur Umsetzung der Forschungsstrategie Graubündens bei.

Universität Utrecht (NL)

 

Institute for Marine and Atmospheric research Utrecht (IMAU)

Das Institut für Meeres- und Atmosphärenforschung Utrecht (IMAU) hat die Mission, einen Beitrag zur Grundlagenforschung über Ozeane, Atmosphäre und Kryosphäre zu leisten. Dieses Wissen wird in Studien über den Klimawandel und die möglichen Auswirkungen auf die Menschheit genutzt.

Fachhochschule Luzern (CH)

 

Institut für Maschinen- und Energietechnik, Bauingenieurwesen

Die Hochschule Luzern – Technik & Architektur…

… bietet ein erstklassiges, praxisorientiertes und flexibles Ingenieur-Studium mit klarer inhaltlicher Ausrichtung.

… betreibt erfolgreich Forschung und Entwicklung auf hohem Niveau und ist ein attraktiver Partner für ihre Kunden.

… versteht sich als Team, das Kunden begeistert, gemeinsam die Zukunft gestaltet und ein attraktiver Arbeitgeber in Bildung und Forschung ist.

 

Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (CH)

 

Institut für Thermo- und Fluid-Engineering

Mit dem Leitsatz: “Experiment und Simulation für Innovation” liegen die Kompetenzen des Institutes in «Thermal Systems Engineering», Strömungs- und Verbrennungsvorgänge, Multiphysics in Herstellungs- und Betriebsprozessen. 

Das Institut für Thermo- und Fluid-Engineering arbeitet als kompetentes und innovatives Team mit viel Industrie- und Management-Erfahrung zusammen in der Lehre und Forschung.

Fachhochschule Graubünden (CH)

 

Zentrum für Angewandte Glaziologie (ZAG)

Das gemeinsam von der Academia Engiadina und der Fachhochschule Graubünden geführte ZAG ist spezialisiert auf Gletscherpflege, Klimaanpassung im Wintertourismus (Seeeis, künstliche Beschneiung, Bau- und Planungswesen im alpinen Raum, Permafrost, Gletschermonitoring) und auf erlebnisorientierte Angebotsinnovation im Tourismus. In erster Linie orientiert sich das Zentrum an den ausserordentlichen natürlichen Rahmenbedingungen in Graubünden (Nähe Morteratschgletscher, Oberengadiner Seen, Wintertourismus, alpiner Raum) und trägt damit zur Umsetzung der Forschungsstrategie Graubündens bei

de_DEDE